Tribhuvan University


Tribhuvan University (TU), which was established in 1959, is the first national institution of higher education in Nepal. The Central Administrative Office and the  Central  Campus of the university are located on the north eastern facade of Kirtipur, an ancient and small town located five kilometers away from Kathmandu city centre. There are 39 central  departments and 4 research centres in TU, and out of them 31 departments and 3 research centres are located at Kirtipur. The university at Kirtipur is spread over an area of 154.77 hectares (3042-5-2 ropanis).

After the second democratic movement of 2006, the Prime Minister of Nepal is the ceremonial chief, the Chancellor of the University, whereas

the Minister of Education is the Pro-Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor is the Chief Executive of the university. He is assisted by the Rector in academic programmes and the Registrar in financial management and general administration.

Tribhuvan University is a non-profit making autonomous institution funded by the Government of Nepal. On January 8, 2013, the government of Nepal has principally agreed to declare Tribhuvan University as the Central University.

Main objectives of TU

The university was established with the following objectives:

  • To prepare capable human resources required for the overall development of Nepal
  • To impart standard higher education
  • To protect and develop national culture and tradition
  • To involve in extensive, empirical and timely creation of knowledge and research in the fields of arts, science, technology and vocation

TU Senate

It is the supreme decision-making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations for running the university. It consists of 52 members.

Councils of TU

There are 4 councils constituted as major decision- making bodies of the university.

Executive Council

Executing  the  decisions  of  the  Senate,  making decisions on grants, giving affiliation to private

campuses, and appointing the university officials are its major functions. It consists of 7 members.

Academic Council

The academic council makes decisions on educational policies and practices regarding curricula, teaching, examinations and research and comprises of 50 members.

Research Coordination Council

It formulates policies on TU research activities, approves guidelines for researchers and coordinates the functions of university level research organizations. Centre for Research is the secretariat of the council. The council consists of 27 members.

Planning Council

The  planning  council  performs  an  advisory role of preparing short and long-term plans, developing annual programmes and evaluating the implementation of programmes. It consists of 29 members.

Academic Programmes

Tribhuvan University committed and dedicated to makes a source and centre of quality education, setting up a culture of learning in the country and promoting the notion of national and global peace and harmony. Recently, the Tribhuvan University made a decision to start semester system at the Central Departments. All the departments, except the Central Department of Law, introduced the semester system. This systemic change was introduced to enforce the academic calendar, to make students full time students dedicated to their studies, to reduce financial burden on students and their parents by making the students complete the degree in time, to respond to the growing concern of the stakeholders about enhancing the academic quality of university education through academic rigor, to revitalize the fame, popularity, credibility and contribution of the university as the oldest centre of higher learning and the central and leading university of Nepal.

The Faculty of Management and Institute of Science and Technology have decided to extend the semester system in Master’s degree outside the

central department from this year. Other Faculties are still planning for extension. Adopting the semester system is really going to prove a daunting task for such a large university spread all over the country. However, if the nation prioritizes education and gives desirable financial support to the university, TU will definitely move ahead on the path of achieving academic excellence and will be able to supply capable manpower to meet the growing challenges of the time.

Since its inception, TU, the state owned university, has expanded its programmes in different disciplines. There are 5 technical institutes and 4 general faculties. TU offers profi   certifi     level courses only in nursing. It has a wide range of course offerings in Bachelor’s and Master’s levels. TU offers M. Phil. and Ph.D. degree in different disciplines both at the Technical Institutes and Faculty.

TU conducted its programmes only through its constituent campuses prior to 1980. As the number of the students willing to acquire higher education was increasing day by day, it was not possible for the university to  accommodate  all  the  students in the constituent  campuses.  This  situation  led to the establishment of colleges in the private sector. From 1979 –80, TU started providing affiliation to private colleges to conduct various programmes at different levels. One thousand eighty  four  (1084)  private  colleges  spread  all over the country have so far received affiliations from TU.

TU has 7966 teaching faculty and 7230 non- teaching  staff  including   the   support   staff   in its constituent campuses. The total number of employees is 15196 including 124 new posts of the Manmohan Cardiothorasic Centre.

Prof. Tirth Raj Khaniya, Ph. D.

Vice-Chancellor, TU

Central Administrative Building P.O.Box 8212

Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal Phone: (977-1) 4330433

Fax: (977-1) 4331964

Prof. Sudha Tripathi, Ph.D.

Rector, TU

Central Administrative Building

P.O. Box. 8212

Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal Phone: (977-1) 4330336 ,

Fax: (977-1)4331964

Email: rectoroffice@

Mr. Dilli Ram Upreti

Registrar, TU

Central Administrative Building 8212

Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal Phone: (977-1)4330436

Fax: 977-1-4331964